top of page

Show Jumping Hall of Fame Hosts a Special Dinner

Updated: Aug 8, 2023

by Nancy Jaffer | Mar 7, 2022

Front row: Beezie Madden, Karen Golding, Margie Goldstein Engle, Melanie Smith Taylor. Back row: Peter Doubleday, David Distler, Anne Kursinski, Steve Stephens, Leslie Burr Howard, Norman Dello Joio, Robert Ridland, Michael Matz.

In its 35-year history, the Show Jumping Hall of Fame has never had a dinner to induct those being honored. Last night, that changed forever, as 180 people packed a dining room at the Wanderers Club in Wellington, Fla., to salute not only those being installed this year, but also many of the stars who have joined the Hall’s ranks over the decades.

“It was such a wonderful idea and so well received,” commented Melanie Smith Taylor, a 1984 Olympic gold medalist and longtime Hall member.

“The electricity in the room was incredible,” said Hall of Fame Executive Director Marty Bauman.

“This was truly one of the most moving nights I have experienced in my 50 years on the show jumping circuit,” noted Show Jumping Hall of Fame chairman Peter Doubleday.

“Seeing so many of our sport’s legends together was a thrill and the inductees’ acceptance speeches were very emotional. It was a night that I know most of us will never forget.”

The dinner’s success means it will be repeated on the same weekend every year, the night after the show jumping Nations Cup. The new tradition also includes the addition of blue jackets given to Hall members (think of the green jackets received by winners of the Masters golf tournament at the Augusta National club.) The jackets were paid for with contributions from Peter and course designer Steve Stephens, both members of the Hall.

Inducted this year were Beezie Madden and the late Mason Phelps. Although Beezie, an Olympic and world championships multi medalist is still competing, the Hall allows those over the age of 55 who remain active in the sport to be honored, because so many people stay involved through middle age and beyond.


bottom of page